Late Departure

Still here in May?

Just worth mentioning that I saw a skein of thirty pink foot geese yesterday, flying low along the Solway coast. I originally assumed that they must be greylags, but there was no mistaking that classic “wink-wink”. I wonder what they’re still doing here, since the majority of birds left at the end of March. The greylags and canadas are well into their breeding on the loch beside my house, and I can’t help thinking that unless these birds get a move on and head North, they’ll be too late for this summer.

Leave a Reply

