Emerging Greenery

I don’t know what these are

Twenty three days after the game crop was drilled, there has been some serious progress. The field is now covered with rapidly expanding little plants, and despite the fact that I still can’t tell a turnip from a radish, it’s very exciting indeed.

It’s interesting that the local wildlife has shown such little interest in the field. Touching wood as I type, I haven’t seen any pigeons or crows on the field ever since I put Mr. Lightbody the scarecrow up. I know he’s great, but he’s not so good as to have put all the birds off altogether for three weeks. I suppose it says a great deal about the poor quality of habitat on the hill until now. It seems like the Chayne is in such a sorry state that it can’t even support much in the way of vermin, let alone gamebirds.

 

Leave a Reply

