The Homecoming

The partridges’ first night on the hill

There was a stressful start this morning when I moved half my grey partridges up onto the Chayne. I’m keeping half back to see if I can breed from them next year, so I didn’t have many to put out in the 12′ x 8′ pen. My transport system worked very well, and it took about 90 minutes from catching the first partridge to leaving them to settle in their relocated pen. However, I was under a fairly strict deadline for a work project, so as much as I wanted to take my time and enjoy working with the birds, I could feel the temperature rising as the minutes ticked by.

It was a great pleasure to hear them calling in this evening after an extremely heavy shower of rain. There haven’t been grey partridges on the Chayne in my lifetime, but they were there so recently that something in the ground still remembers them. It’s a good spot for partridges, and although these birds are only a drop in the ocean, they are the first step in a long process.

In the past three or four days, the bolted radish plants have started to fall over. Their seed pods are getting heavy and are weighing down the gangly stalks. This is an unforseen circumstance of bolted crops, but to watch the partridges getting tucked into the fresh foliage, it was clear that they weren’t that bothered.

One thought on “The Homecoming

  1. Kev

    Keeping a cock bird back in the pen as a call bird and auxiliary feeding should help hold the birds reasonably close

    Keep us posted how they do

    Kev

Leave a Reply

