Chicken Dog

Pretending not to care

Just thought it would be worth including this picture of the dog pretending not to notice a party of approaching hens. She’s never shown the slightest inclination to chase them or have any dealings with them, but until I realised that, I watched her very closely whenever she went near them. She must have picked up on this, because while she’s not interested, she feels embarrassed whenever she’s near them, and looks to me as if to say “I’m not doing whatever it is you don’t want me to do”. She got quite a good mauling from the black rock bantam when it had some young chicks, so if she ever was interested in bothering hens, I think that experience took the wind out of her sails.

Being a labrador, she eats anything, and her demand for food means that she is even fond of grower’s pellets. Now and again, I catch her eating growers and watch as the hens work their way closer and closer towards her. Inevitably, they push her away and she runs happily over to me as if she was full anyway and didn’t want any more. What a wimp.

Leave a Reply

