Pheasants

A Maize Experiment

An experiment in maize
An experiment in maize.

Just as an experiment, I bought a bag of maize to try on the pheasants at the Chayne. They have been hitting the feed hoppers pretty hard since the first snow came down, and I’ve actually been struggling to keep them full of wheat for the past fortnight. All kinds of other songbirds have been using the hoppers, which is pretty satisfactory. I also don’t really mind feeding woodpigeons provided that I can shoot a couple of them in the spring. A couple of corbie crows are being quite conspicuous around one of the hoppers but I think that they are a job for the larsen mate trap. I am in two minds about whether to catch them now and just have another pair move in before the spring or just let them grow fat and tame, then kill them in April. On one hand I don’t want to feed corbie crows, but while they’re holding that patch, no others will come in and they really will be easy to catch when I need rid of them. A possibility worth considering.

Maize is considerably more expensive than wheat almost £10/25Kg compared to a high £7 for wheat, but I thought it was worth looking at. It might be worth buying the odd bag and mixing it in with the wheat if it turns out that the birds like it as much as they are supposed to. In retrospect, I should have bought flaked wheat, since the large corn doesn’t fit through most of my feeder nozzles. I’ll chalk that up to experience and put this first bag of straight maize into the hopper with the bigger holes…

1 thought on “A Maize Experiment”

  1. Pheasants love maize. As do pigeons and crows. Rats and deer like it as well.

    Split maize is best for feeding thru spiral feeders. Whole maize will clog them up, If your using the Parkland toggle type feeders you’re just wasting your time……. they wont work.

    It looks like the stuff you have is whole maize. I wouldn’t put it in the feeders with wheat. I’d use it for a bit of light hand feeding.

    .

Leave a Reply

