Birthday!

A fine young blackcock on a frosty March morning. Is there any better sight in the world?

A fine young blackcock on a frosty March morning. Is there any better sight in the world?

Today is the fourth birthday of this Working for Grouse blog, so that is worth commemorating in some way.

As far as the statistics go, I am fast approaching 100,000 unique visitors, with many of them in past eighteen months. This is without much in the way of advertising or promotion beyond the occasional “tweet”, and it’s very flattering to see that such a huge amount of people have bumped into this blog. Over the past few years I have made a number of really good friends from people who have contacted me after encountering Working for Grouse, and that is not to mention a good number of mortal enemies, which can only be a good thing. Thanks in part to this blog and the people who read it, I have been able to convert my passion into my living, and I am extremely grateful for the pleasure it gives me.

The struggle to conserve and promote black grouse as a gamebird continues with the same enthusiasm as all those many months ago, and I am still as wholly devoted to those fine, heart-swelling birds as I was on the first morning I ever clapped eyes on one. Over the last year, several people have been in touch with me for advice and consultancy on black grouse conservation, both of which I am thrilled to offer, either in person or via the telephone or email. You can contact me by leaving a comment on any of my blog articles and I will aim to get back to you whenever I can.

There is a great deal more to cover, so roll on another year!

One thought on “Birthday!

Leave a Reply

