On the High Tops

On the high tops

Worth posting this picture of a golden plover I came across in Perthshire last week. I see plovers quite frequently throughout the year, but this was one of a few occasions when I had time to enjoy these little birds as I ate my piece on a hilltop looking towards Beinn a’ Ghlò. His flat-bottomed scuttle reminded me of the bustards that used to prowl around the cleared lands where I worked in the South African bushveldt, and I was thrilled to hear that sad, mournful whistle over the wind-clipped heather and cowberry.

I’m looking forward to seeing much more of golden plover when I head out to North Uist at the end of this month, but I thought that this picture was cheery enough to warrant inclusion for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

