Uncategorized

2015 in Retrospect

DSC04479

I had a flick through Working for Grouse while I was away in Cornwall, and I’m always surprised by the quantity of material I end up posting. I suspect that most of my regular readers have established some kind of filter system by which they can pick and choose the articles they’re interested in, and I’m always hugely flattered when I meet people who claim to read every post – If you are one of these readers, I congratulate you – it’s a lot of stuff to wade through.

I had thought of doing a roundup of the year, but work and priorities don’t allow much of a review at the moment. I will highlight two of my favourites while there’s time, if only to remind myself of why I bother with all this relentless typing.

The first is “All Night” , recalling a sleepless night in July and a successful morning’s roe buck stalking on the heather before the sunrise – and the second is “At Home with the Wheatears” – notes from a blissful day in early April when it seemed like the summer of 2015 was going to be a thing of beauty. How wrong I was, although the disastrous washout of blackgame in Galloway has mercifully not proved to be as apocalyptic as feared in August.

There are many other bits and pieces, and several that I haven’t had the time to re-read, but I daresay that I will find time someday. In the meantime, Happy New Year to all readers, wherever you are.

5 thoughts on “2015 in Retrospect”

  1. Patrick, there are definitely those of us who read every post and even those of us who wish there were more! It certainly brings the Outdoors in to read your posts and they certainly brighten my days. Thanks for taking the time to put them in your blog. I have received a copy of your book for Christmas which I am very much looking forward to reading. Thanks again for your perseverance with the writing of your blog. Ade

  2. Patrick, I can’t believe the ‘all night’ post was all the way back in July. Time really has flown this year.

    I enjoy your ramblings and wish you every success in 2016.

    Regards, Phil

    >

  3. Happy New Year Patrick. I guess I’m one of the few who reads pretty much everything you write, or at least I do since discovering your blog about a year ago. Given time I’d probably read back over too, but that’s not a luxury I have at the moment. I know we don’t agree on much but I do enjoy reading what you have to say and feel we’d have a good natter about in in the pub when I could press you further on points of order. Someday perhaps. Anyway… congratulations and keep it up.

Leave a Reply

